Legendary Teams

MOB - Series 1-5

One of the original two SlamBall teams that started in an LA warehouse, the MOB’s popularity has always been driven by it’s signature style of play. Big hits, suffocating defense, and one-tramp lobs typify the MOB’s lunch pail and hard hat mentality. The MOB’s championship run began with two back-to-back titles (Series 4 and 5) led by Handler Noah Ballou, Series 4 MVP Trevor “Eagle” Anderson, and the first international SlamBall star, Shanghai’s Lu Feng. The MOB has also been home to SlamBall all-time legends such as Sean “Inches” Jackson, Lamonica “The Machine” Garrett, and Kevin Cassidy. Boasting both highly skilled players and legendary coach Brendan Kirsch, the MOB continued their winning ways with a Series 6 championship for an unprecedented three consecutive titles.

Rumble - Series 1-5

According to its legendary leader, Handler Jelani Janisse, “the RUMBLE was a smart, tough, gritty, and cocky group of misfits.” In addition to being one of the two original SlamBall teams that began play on a warehouse court made out of spare parts, the RUMBLE lay claim to a ludicrous winning percentage north of 70% of their games across Series 1-5. “The green machine” boasted some of the top talents ever in the sport including “Take Flight” Whitney White, James “Champ Willis, Dion Mays, and inimitable Memphis Robinson. The winners of SlamBall’s inaugural world championship, the RUMBLE always brought an unmatched swagger to the game. This was at least in part inspired by the leadership of Ken Carter, “the real Coach Carter,” whose basketball exploits inspired the famous film starring Samuel L. Jackson in the titular role. “RUMBLE, young man, RUMBLE!”

Slashers - Series 1-5

Technically sound, offensively complex, and highly skilled is how many would describe the SLASHERS across their tenure in Series 1-5. Led by Legendary AAU basketball coach turned SlamBall guru, Coach Kevin Stapleton, the SLASHERS defeated the RUMBLE in SlamBall’s early defining game, a championship broadcast in Series 3 on CBS. The game came down to a nail-biting last second win and signature stop by All-Time Stopper Adam Hooker, who turned back the nigh-unstoppable Jelani Janisse in the closing moments to seal their title-securing victory. While the SLASHERS always had talented rosters, they were most notably known for Josh Carlson, Scott Campbell, and the aforementioned Adam Hooker, some of SlamBall’s most revered competitors.

Maulers - Series 3-5

The MAULERS were never were able to finish a season out on top, but they were a constant threat to other teams, largely thanks to the presence of Stan “Shakes/Sh8ks” Fletcher. Widely touted as the GOAT of SlamBall and unquestionably the most creative player in the history of the game, Fletcher humiliated opposing players with his signature freestyle plays, a combination of skill and creativity that enabled him to get around defenses who were specifically geared to disrupt his offensive brilliance. Fletcher toyed with defenses across his career with the MAULERS en route to racking up the All-Time scoring record in the sport.

Bouncers - Series 1-3

The original “Fast and Furious” SlamBall squad was the BOUNCERS. Across Series 1-3, an orange and blue fast-breaking wave overwhelmed opponents with their pace and aggressive offensive philosophy. The BOUNCERS would never stop running, and it fit their personnel like a glove. High-flying legends such as Dion Bailey and “Ghetto Bird” Chris Young drove the offense, while the back line was manned by Canadian standout Stopper Rob Wilson and All-Time Stops leader Rodney Bond. The BOUNCERS were led admirably by Coach Hernando Planells, one of SlamBall’s original and most respected coaches.

Diablos - Series 1-2

These Blue Devils were on a whole different level. Led by Va Tech standout David Jackson, free-safety Ray Ross, and SlamBall creator Mason Gordon, the DIABLOS came within a score or two of winning SlamBall’s first world championship. The team was tough nosed, disciplined, and could pass like nobody’s business – with the ball whipping around the court to create innovative scoring opportunities. David Jackson famously played through the first championship game with a broken jaw, and the Series 2 DIABLOS were led by Kobe’s father, Coach Joe “Jellybean” Bryant.

Steal - Series 1-2

“Nothing but high flying action, all day, every day! Holla at the STEAL, it’s real,” is how arguably the best player ever Stan “Shakes/Sh8ks” Fletcher described his squad. Pairing Fletcher with original six SlamBall star Michael Goldman, who displayed a preternatural passing ability in the sport, and an absolute sniper in Sam “Snoop” Jones, the STEAL constantly played with an athletic and creative advantage over their opponents. Coached by former New Jersey Nets star Brian Taylor, who brought professional style offensive sets to what would otherwise been a mostly improvisational team concept.

Hombres - Series 3

Despite only appearing during Series 3, the HOMBRES made an enduring impression as a high-flying team that punished teams with their physicality and athleticism. During their short tenure, the HOMBRES were led by SlamBall staples Trevor “The Eagle” Anderson and George Byrd, while unforgettable offensive performances were submitted by Gunners “Reemix” Myree Bowden and John Thomas.

Riders - Series 2

An expansion team in Series 2, the RIDERS wasted no time in establishing a reputation for their intimidating style of play. Led by a former NBA All-Star in Coach Xavier McDaniel, the RIDERS squad quickly took on the X-man’s fearsome demeanor. James “Champ” Willis led the team coming off his championship run with the RUMBLE, pairing with both an unstoppable Handler in Calvin Patterson and a towering Stopper in George Byrd, who the entire league hesitated to go against at the rim. The RIDERS immediately became a force to reckon with, and embarked on a memorable run to win the championship in their inaugural season.

Bandits Series 2

Despite only winning 2 games, the Bandits were able to keep games close with their high-motor style of play. Often boasting many LBRs, the Bandits refused to be out-hustled by opponents. The Bandits were led by Handler “Crushow” Gerrie Herring during their lone series of play.